top of page

Quality Migrant Admission Scheme (QMAS)

Quality Migrant Admission Scheme (QMAS)

This scheme is to attract world-class highly skilled or talented persons to settle in Hong Kong in order to enhance Hong Kong’s economic competitiveness. All applicants are required to fulfill a set of prerequisites before they can award points under one of the point tests: General Points Test and Achievement-based Points Test and compete for quota allocation with other applicants. This scheme is not applicable to nationals of Afghanistan, Cuba and North Korea. 

  • No job offers is required 

  • No investment is required 

  • No employment restriction 

  • Can bring spouse and unmarried children under the age of 18 

  • Can apply for Hong Kong Permanent Residents 

  • At least 18 years old  

  • Have sufficient fund to support the applicant and family living in Hong Kong 

  • No criminal record or adverse immigration records 

  • Good language proficiency (both written and spoken) in either Chinese or English. 

  • Have a bachelor’s degree or above 

  • Provide sufficient proof of documents 

  • Obtain the required passing mark from one of the point tests 

  • Being selected and secure quota allotment from the selection exercise 

  • Applicant can obtain the required scores from Achivement-based Points Test or General Points Test

Points-based test

Achievement-based Points Test 


Those who are considered to have met one of the criteria under this test listed in the following paragraph will be awarded 245 points; otherwise, no point will be awarded , and the application cannot proceed under the Achievement-based Points System: 


A. The applicant has received an award of exceptional achievement (e.g. Olympic medals, Nobel prize, national/international awards);


B. the applicant can show that his/her work has been acknowledged by his/her peers or has contributed significantly to the development of his/her field (e.g. lifetime achievement award from industry). 

General Points Test 

  • The maximum score is 245 points, and the minimum qualifying score is 80 points. Applicants must achieve the minimum qualifying score to be eligible to submit an application. 

  • There are six scoring categories, namely:

1) Age,

2) Education / Professional Qualifications,

3) Work Experience,

4) Talent List,

5) Language Proficiency,

6) Family Background


Step 1: Retain Anlex Consultants to assess and prepare your application 

Step 2: Submit your application to the Immigration Department 

Step 3: Receive file numbers and additional documents request 

Step 4: Receive decision 

Acquiring Status

Estimated Timeline


at least 12 months

Please contact us or make an appointment with our experienced consultant for the details of the requirement, procedure, processing time or free assessment. 

bottom of page